HOME » WHAT'S ON: ARCHIVE: 2015 » IT WON'T BE TOO LONG

It Won’t Be Too Long

for Singapore International Festival of Arts 2015





In a country as small as Singapore, space – both physically and psychologically – comes at a premium. Drama Box explores the dynamics of space in Singapore in It Won't Be Too Long, which blends performance and participation in two arts projects, The Lesson and The Cemetery. The two socially engaged art projects also reflect the different approaches to performance-making that have characterised Drama Box’s philosophy for 25 years.

It Won’t Be Too Long asks important questions about living, dying, thriving and surviving in a country where space is limited and precious. How do we create or reclaim a sense of space that allows us to debate and dream, learn and live, recall and retrieve what we have lost? What forces are at work in shaping our space, and when is it worth contesting the dominant uses of space? Is there space for a shared heterotopia, or are we confined by a utopia defined by the elite?

More information & ticketing
https://sifa.sg/

It Won't Be Too Long: The Lesson


Photos taken by Kevin Lee
© SIFA

Date
9 & 11 September (in Mandarin)
10 & 12 September (in English)

Time
8.00pm

Duration
1hr 30, no intermission

Venue
GoLi – The Moving Theatre: outside Toa Payoh Library

Language
Performed in Mandarin or in English.

The Lesson centres around a new MRT station that's in the works for a housing estate. But there is little space left and something else in the area must be demolished. What will stay, and what will go? Members of the public enter this scenario and participate in the roles of policy-makers, power-brokers and property agents. With the help of seasoned facilitators, theatre practitioners Li Xie and Jean Ng, as well as a panel of experts, participants and observers alike will learn about the costs, risks, stakes and sacrifices that come with creating a community.

Directed by
Li Xie

It Won't Be Too Long: The Cemetery


Photos taken by Tan Ngiap Heng and Kevin Lee
© SIFA
© The Pond Photography

Date
18 & 19 Sept 15

Time & Venue
Dawn: 5.30am at Bukit Brown Cemetery
Dusk: 8pm at SOTA Studio Theatre

Duration
1hr 30 for each part, no intermission

Language
Performed in multiple languages with English and Mandarin surtitles.

Unfolding in two parts (Dawn & Dusk), The Cemetery examines the notion and reality of a burial ground – looking in particular at how Bukit Brown represents loss and being lost. Do we need a new road for economic growth or do we need to hold onto some roots in our land?

Slip into the rhythms of Bukit Brown in the wee hours of the morning as the shadows of performers evaporate, giving way to daily routines when the sun rises. From the ghostly to the earthly, this performance of everyday life situates us firmly in the Bukit Brown Cemetery, which may disappear as contestations continue. Experience the very nature of Bukit Brown in the early morning, a site that has dominated the news in the last year but which you have perhaps never visited.

In the evening, Dusk shifts into the genre of verbatim theatre, as directed by Kok Heng Leun and shaped by playwright Jean Tay from the words and experiences of ordinary family members, various stakeholders such as the Heritage Society, civil society representatives, institutions and agencies. Discover the heartbreak and hope of everyone involved in negotiating the fate of Bukit Brown.

Dusk ends with an elegy to this process led by the indie pop band The Observatory.

Directed by
Kok Heng Leun

About Li Xie

Li Xie performs, writes, directs and teaches. She has undergone training in Vsevolod Meyerhold's Biomechanics by Gennadi Bogdanov (Russia) and has also started SOBX (school of Biomechanics). Li Xie is one of the few acclaimed playwright-cum-directors in the local Chinese theatre scene. Her directorial works include The vaginaLOGUE, The Magnanimous Cuckold, Little White Sailing Boat, House of Sins, etc. In 2004, she created the first mockumentary news theatre News Busters!. She was awarded the Young Artist Award by National Arts Council (Singapore) in 2005.




TOP

BE A FRIEND. Join our mailing list.

Personal Data Protection Policy

TOP

首页 » 即将登场: 存档: 2015 » 不久的将来

在不久的将来

新加坡国际艺术节2015 节目之一





对新加坡这样一个小国而言,空间—— 土地空间和心理空间—— 都显得珍贵。通过《在不久的将来》,戏剧盒以两部作品《一堂课》和《坟场》探讨新加坡空间的议题,除了演出,也有观众参与的部份。戏剧盒将以多种戏剧手法,呈现这两部与社区息息相关的艺术企划,充份表现出戏剧盒这25年来的创团理念。

在不久的将来》探讨生与死的课题、以及在一个空间有限的国家里生活和生存的议题。我们如何创造或重拾一个能够对话和想像、学习和生活、追忆和追溯的空间呢?是什么力量在塑造我们的空间?我们什么时候能够挑战空间的主导权?我们能否塑造一个属于大家的异托邦,还是我们已经被精英所定义的乌托邦给局限了?

购票与更多详情

在不久的将来 之 《一堂课》


Photos taken by Kevin Lee
© SIFA

日期
2015年9月9和11日 (以华语进行)
2015年9月10和12日 (以英语进行)

时间
晚上8点

时长
1小时30分钟,无中场休息

地点
在GoLi“弹珠移动聚场”内 (大巴窑国家图书馆前面的空地)

语言
演出以华语或英语进行

一堂课》的剧情围绕在一个住屋地带里即将兴建的地铁站。然而土地资源有限,要兴建地铁站,就必须拆除一些设施。应该拆除什么,应该保留什么?公众将有机会参与演出,扮演决策者、投机者、房地产经纪等等。在经验丰富的引导者(剧场工作者李邪、Jean Ng),以及现场“专家小组”的帮忙下,参与者和观众都能同时认识和了解:在创造我们的社群时,我们会面对什么样的风险、代价、危机和牺牲。

导演
李邪

在不久的将来 之 《坟场》


Photos taken by Tan Ngiap Heng and Kevin Lee
© SIFA
© The Pond Photography

日期
2015年9月18和19日

时间与地点
朝: 早上5点30分于武吉布朗坟场
暮: 晚上8点与新加坡艺术学院小剧场

时长
每场一个半小时,无中场休息

语言
演出将以多种语言进行,附中英文字幕。

坟场》通过两个部份(“朝”、“暮”)探讨坟场的概念,以及它所面对的现实—— 具体探讨武吉布朗坟场如何体现遗失和迷失。我们是否需要兴建一条为了促进经济发展的马路?我们是否需要保留这块土地上渐渐遗失的根?

在清晨薄暮中,一起随着武吉布朗坟场的节奏起舞;目睹表演者的身影在升起的朝阳下渐渐变幻,一直到世俗的活动和日常的琐事通通开始苏醒。这项日常的演出让我们正视武吉布朗坟场,因为它随时都会在公众的争论中消失。和我们一起体验早晨的武吉布朗坟场—— 那是一个充斥着去年新闻版位的空间,也是一个你或许从未曾涉足过的空间。

到了傍晚,“暮”将以口述剧场的形式呈现。导演郭庆亮和编剧郑茵将给观众再现出一些相关人士的语录(其中包括了不同机构和组织代表、民间团体代表、新加坡传统文化学会的股东们、家庭成员们等)。通过一个个的口述,一起体验这些人为武吉布朗坟场的未来交涉时的心路历程。

最后,“暮”将会以独立乐团The Observatory所呈现的挽歌作为结束。

导演
郭庆亮

关于李邪

李邪是位演员,编剧,导演和戏剧导师。她长期受训於俄国戏剧大师梅耶荷德的表演体系,并创办了SOBX (School of Biomechanics)。李邪是本地中文剧场少数能自编自导的人才。她编导過的作品有《阴道独白》、《绿帽王》、《小白船》、《极乐世界》等。2004年,她开创了嘲讽型新闻剧场《大歹紀》。2005年,她获得新加坡艺术理事会颁发青年艺术家奖。




TOP

做做朋友。加入飞鸽传书。

个人资料保护政策(英文版)
若需要任何讲解,请致电6324 5434

TOP