HOME » WHAT'S ON: PRODUCTIONS: SCENES: PARTICIPATORY PRACTICES

SCENES: Participatory Practices


Date
7 – 13 Sept 2020

Venue (Launch on 7 Sept 2020!)
SCENES2020.dramabox.org

Language
In English. No subtitles

Registration (Limited Capacity!)
Pay-As-You-Wish
(Refer to individual programme for more information)

SCENES schedule at a glance

SCENESters - Be part of the SCENES community!
Stay connected from now throughout SCENES!
Join the @SCENEStersDB on Telegram for dialogues on and beyond SCENES: Participatory Practice



SCENES returns this September with its third edition, while also celebrating a huge milestone - Drama Box turning 30!

SCENES: Participatory Practices is a virtual gathering of socially-engaged arts practitioners from Asia Pacific, and a practice of participation in shared solitudes. While gathering and live presence were central to previous iterations, against a backdrop of physical distancing, what other possibilities remain for critical engagement with society?

Taking place over 7 days, with 3 Experiences, 6 Workshops and 2 Conversations, SCENES is an invitation to explore how we can continue activating our sense of empathy and imagination, and overcome distance to create connection, community and solidarity!

Read about the SCENES artists

3 Experiences

The Little Old Cooking Club That Could (World Premiere)

by Jamie Lewis (Australia/Singapore)

For Registered Participants Only!
24 Aug – 11 Sept, 1 – 2pm

Click here for more information on participating in The Little Old Cooking Club That Could (Open to children between 9 – 12 and seniors over 65)
To register: https://forms.gle/xgE8DNxNuuzb2eqC6
Deadline: 7 Aug

Open to Everyone!
Talk: 13 Sept, 1pm – 2pm
Public Livestream on SCENES2020.dramabox.org

The Little Old Cooking Club That Could is an intimate community dining experience for one, specially designed by Jamie Lewis, a Singaporean artist based in Australia. Delivered in a tiffin box by Papa Lewis, a group of ten intergenerational audience participants savour a meal with headphones on, tuning in to an intercultural conversation between children and seniors in Australia and Singapore.

*Talk: Artist Jamie and the 10 participants will gather at the end of The Little Old Cooking Club That Could to share and reflect upon their participation. This sharing will be streamed live on SCENES2020.dramabox.org

KXMOBA (World Premiere)

by Komunidad X (The Philippines)

Open to Everyone!
8 – 10 Sept, round the clock

Get the Zoom link on SCENES2020.dramabox.org to enter. Fastest fingers first! Admits up to 100 participants each time.

Public Livestream on SCENES2020.dramabox.org
8 Sept: 6 – 7am, 6 – 7pm
9 Sept: 9 – 10am, 5 – 6pm
10 Sept: 6 – 7pm, 11:30 – 11:59pm

The conditions set by the sudden spread of the pandemic have made it difficult for us to interact and communicate as people. Physical distancing, isolation and even wearing masks have curtailed our means to communicate as social beings of this world.

KXMOBA plays and surfs around the possibilities of human-to-human connections amid the on-ground and online barriers set to stop the spread of the disease. The performance embarks on a circular journey for people to discover multiple pathways to reach out and create connections from online to on-ground and back to online, creating ripples as pockets of people interact and communicate with each other.

The Lesson – An Online Experiment (Back by Popular Demand)

by Kok Heng Leun (Drama Box, Singapore)

For Registered Participants Only! Participants are required to attend all sessions.

To participate as residents
Briefing: 24 Aug, 8 – 9:30pm
Part 1 (Pre-show): 11 Sept, 8 – 9pm
Part 2 (Show): 12 Sept, 8 – 10pm
Part 3 (Post-show): 13 Sept, 4 – 5:30pm

Click here for more information on participating as residents
To register: https://forms.gle/kvGXr8VegQ1SEmkV8
Deadline: 11 Aug

To participate as members of the public in the show
Part 1 (Pre-show): 11 Sept, 8 – 9pm
Part 2 (Show): 12 Sept, 8 – 10pm
Part 3 (Post-show): 13 Sept, 4 – 5:30pm

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://thelesson_online.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 9 Sept

Open to Everyone!
Watch the show (Part 2) on 12 Sept, 8 – 10pm
Public Livestream on SCENES2020.dramabox.org

The Lesson asks questions about the forces at work that shape our space, and whether there is enough space for a heterotopia. The audience is presented with a scenario whereby the city has made plans for the development of an old housing estate. However, there is little space left, therefore an existing facility in the area must be demolished. What will stay, and what will go? The audience enters this scenario and participates in the decision-making process. Through this process, the audience learns about the costs, risks, stakes and sacrifices that come with creating a community.

The Lesson was first created by Li Xie as part of the It Won’t Be Too Long trilogy and presented at the Singapore International Festival of Arts 2015. Drama Box's Artistic Director Kok Heng Leun is adapting it to an online format for SCENES: Participatory Practices.

6 Workshops

Homework

by anGie seah

For Registered Participants Only! Participants are required to attend all sessions.
9 – 12 Sept, At participants’ own time
Collective Session: 13 Sept, 10 – 11:30am

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://homework_workshop.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 3 Sept

“Breathe art to include yourself”
This workshop helps you find creative approaches to daily life and is perfect for anyone whether lacking in imagination or full of it.

With the aim of bringing the focus back to oneself, anGie will customise prompts and “homework” for participants to complete in the comfort of their own homes. Expect to carry out a series of tasks ranging from simple to reflective to whimsical. Completed assignments will be made available for viewing online.

Rant with Kumar

For Registered Participants Only!
9 Sept, 10 – 11pm

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://rantwithkumar.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 3 Sept

Ranting is an expression of anger and frustration that is usually perceived as reckless, thoughtless and destructive. Yet, it also reveals honest feelings, concerns and desires of people. How can we harness the constructive potential of ranting as a kind of communication in the public sphere? What are the things that need to be said in public? Who needs to hear it and how do we talk about it? In this workshop, Kumar borrows from his years of experience in comedy and facilitates the participants to reflect on things they need to rant about and how to do it.

Breathing Objects

by Myra Loke (The Finger Players)

For Registered Participants Only! Participants are required to attend all sessions.
Part 1: 10 Sept, 2 – 5pm
Part 2: 12 Sept: 2 – 5pm

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://breathing_objects.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 25 Aug

Objects in motion and objects that breathe - herein lies the heart of puppetry. The creativity in this art form is the balance between the activated motion by the puppeteer, and the "agency" of the puppet/object - the recognition that “every object contains a soul of its own”. With this acknowledgement and respect, we activate the puppet/object by giving it our breath (the puppeteer’s breath).

This process of activating and animating a puppet requires the participation of the puppet, puppeteer and also the audience. The object comes to life by a puppeteer's hands and breath, and the audience is encouraged to suspend disbelief while actively participating in this transformation. This reconfiguring of being therefore requires participation and investment.

This workshop brings its participants through the journey of answering two crucial questions - How can we harness this participation and why should we?

Healing with Humour

by Gwee Li Sui

For Registered Participants Only! Recommended for ages 16 and above.
10 Sept, 7 – 9pm

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://healingwithhumour.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 3 Sept

This workshop aims to illustrate the importance of humour in our social interactions. If we can understand how a society thinks by how it laughs, can growing our sense of humour help us change?

This workshop will demonstrate that the gaps in our perception of another or a situation can be bridged by humour. Conducted entirely chat-based, participants can observe the way words work without cues from physical expression, and also appreciate the power of words more directly.

Acts and Antidotes For Surviving Eclipses, Peculiar Habitats and Contradictory Certainties

by Zarina Muhammad

For Registered Participants Only! Participants are required to attend all sessions.
Part 1: 11 Sept, 10 – 11pm
Part 2: 13 Sept, 2 – 3pm

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://acts_and_antidotes.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 3 Sept

This workshop invites participants to consider their own personal acts, gestures, mindful actions and antidotes in times of crises, transition and transformation. What are our individual and collective methods of memory-making, commemorating loss, reconstructing traditions of renewal? How does this parallel the ways we mark and measure time? What stories do we tell of final rites, of peculiar phantoms (of the old world order), of ruined/renewed landscapes of isolation/belonging, of time and future ghosts and the chaos of crossing thresholds we might be unfamiliar with? Through the act of storytelling, ritual and gesture, the workshop aims to explore ways to create our own memory maps, personal peculiar habitats, talismanic effigies, apotropaic marks and calendrical systems to remember and memorialise all that we assume matters.

Kemas Ritual

by P7:1SMA

For Registered Participants Only!
12 Sept, 10 – 12pm

Pay-As-You-Wish
To register: https://kemas_ritual.eventbrite.sg
Deadline: 3 Sept

What is dirty to you? How do you clean? Join P7:1SMA for this workshop which approaches and imagines acts of cleaning as a homely ritual. With a collective desire, participants will play an active role to score a kemas ritual and dedicate it to anchors of calmness at home.

2 Conversations

Gathering Apart: Making Participatory Art in a Physically Distanced World

Speakers:
JK Anicoche (Komunidad X, The Philippines)
Han Xuemei (Drama Box, Singapore)
Jamie Lewis (Australia)

Moderator:
Chng Yi Kai (Drama Box, Singapore)

Open to Everyone!
7 Sept, 7 – 8:30pm
Public Livestream on SCENES2020.dramabox.org

Bringing together the SCENES performance artists and SCENES artistic director to unpack and address the question of how we can continue to make participatory art in a physically distanced world, this panel discussion serves as a lead in to the world of experiences in SCENES.

Being a Part of Gathering: Reflections from SCENES Participants

By Invitation Only!
13 Sept, 7 – 8:30pm

Exclusive to all participants and artists to gather and reflect on their experience participating in SCENES.

An open conversation that shifts the focus away from the artists and the art to the participants, participants of the different workshops and performances gather in an attempt to ask and answer: how do we practise participation in a physically-distanced world? Anyone who took part in SCENES is welcome to join this virtual ‘campfire’, to share or listen to one another’s perspectives on their experiences thus far. Together as a “panel” of individuals who created and participated in SCENES, this brings an end to SCENES by critically contemplating what has been learnt, observed or discovered in the past 7 days, and how to bring it to the world beyond SCENES.


TOP

BE A FRIEND. Join our mailing list.

Personal Data Protection Policy



TOP

首页 » 即将登场: 演出: 戏聚现场:参与式剧场的实践

戏聚现场:参与式剧场的实践


日期
2020年9月7至13日

地点
SCENES2020.dramabox.org

语言
以英语进行,不含字幕。

报名(名额有限)
随意付费
(请参考个别项目,获取更多详情)

戏聚现场-成为戏聚现场社群的一份子!
即日起,与我们在整个“戏聚现场”活动保持联系!
加入Telegram 的 @SCENEStersDB,参与“戏聚现场:参与式剧场的实践”的对话、一起探讨活动内容、思考未来走向。



“戏聚现场”第三系列,将于今年9月卷土重来,同时庆祝一项重要的里程碑—— 戏剧盒的30岁生日!

“戏聚现场:参与式剧场的实践”是一项由亚太区内各个参与社会的艺术工作者们齐聚一堂的虚拟聚会;同时也是大家在独处中参与社会的一项艺术实践。以往,观众的聚集和存在都是重要元素,如今我们都被隔离,我们如何寻找参与社会其他的可能性?

一连7天的活动,3场体验式演出、6场工作坊、2场对话—— “戏聚现场”邀请大家一起前来探讨如何继续激发我们的同理心和想象力、克服距离、创造联系的方式、建立社群、以及互相合作的精神!

有关戏聚现场的艺术工作者

3个体验式演出

耆幼烹飪高手俱樂部(全球首播)

Jamie Lewis (澳洲/新加坡)

只限报名者!
讲座:9月13日,下午1到2点
通过 SCENES2020.dramabox.org现场直播

“耆幼烹飪高手俱樂部”是专门为观众设计的亲密社群用餐体验,由常驻澳洲的新加坡籍艺术工作者Jamie Lewis精心设计。Lewis的爸爸会派送午餐盒,而由10位跨年代的参与者们组成的组合,将一边品尝美食,一边通过耳机聆听一场由澳洲和新加坡籍的孩子们和年长者之间的跨文化对谈。

*讲座:“耆幼烹飪高手俱樂部”结束以后,艺术工作者Jamie将和10位参与者聚集,分享并反思他们的体验。这场分享会将在SCENES2020.dramabox.org现场直播。

KXMOBA (全球首播)

Komunidad X (菲律宾)

为公众开放!
9月8至10日,全天24小时

请上网SCENES2020.dramabox.org取得Zoom的链接,参与这项活动,先到先得!每次只可容纳100名观众。

通过SCENES2020.dramabox.org现场直播
9月8日: 早上6到7点、傍晚6到7点
9月9日:早上9到10点、傍晚5到6点
9月10日: 傍晚6到7点、晚上11:30到11:59pm

突如其来的疫情,造成社交和沟通变得困难重重。 社交距离、隔离、甚至戴口罩,都剥夺了我们作为社群动物的沟通能力。

为了防止病毒传播,我们在虚拟和实体空间里都设立了重重障碍—— KXMOBA则尝试嬉游和探索人与人联系的各种可能性。参与者将踏上一趟环形的旅程,从虚拟空间走入实体空间,再回到虚拟空间,制造类似涟漪的效果,以期发现不同的途径,制造不同的联系方式,让不同群体的人们互相交流沟通。

《一堂课》—— 线上试验(询众要求,再次呈献)

郭庆亮(戏剧盒,新加坡)

只限报名者!参与者必须参与所有演出

第一部(演出前):9月11日,晚上8点到9点半
第二部(演出):9月12日,晚上8点到10点
第三部(演出后):9月13日,下午4点到5点半

为公众开放!
第二部(演出):9月12日,晚上8点至10点
通过SCENES2020.dramabox.org现场直播

《一堂课》质问在一个空间有限的地方,是什么力量在塑造我们的空间?人民能否塑造一个属 于大家的异托邦。我们为观众设定以下的情境 —— 一个老旧的组屋区面临发展。然而土地资 源有限,有得必有所失,观众有机会参与演出,参与决策过程, 决定什么设施应该拆除,什 么应该保留。在经验丰富的引导者的引导下,参与者和观众都能同时认识和了解:在创造我们 的社群时,我们会面对什么样的风险、代价、危机和牺牲。

《一堂课》由李邪首创,于新加坡国际艺术节2015呈现,是《不久的将来》三部曲之一。戏剧盒艺术总监郭庆亮为了“戏聚现场:参与式剧场的实践”,为《一堂课》做出调度,以线上方式呈现。

6个工作坊

功课

--谢燕芳

只限报名者!报名者须全程参与。
9月9至12日,参与者自行安排时间
集体参与:9月13日,早上10点至11点30分

随意付费

“呼吸艺术,容纳自我”
这个工作坊将让你在生活中寻找创意方法。无论你自认缺乏想象力,或是自认想象力丰富,都适合参与。

谢燕芳为你拟定一系列的“提示”和“功课”,让你把焦点转向内心,让你在家中的舒适环境里完成任务。这一系列任务,有的简单,有的发人深思,有的甚至天马行空!完成的任务将会上载到网上,供在线观看。

和Kumar谩骂

--Kumar

只限报名者!
9月9日,晚上10点至11点

随意付费

愤怒和沮丧时,谩骂其实是表达情绪的方式,但却常常被批判作鲁莽、轻率、深具破坏性。然而谩骂也可以展示人们赤诚的感受、一种关心、一种欲望。 “谩骂”也有充满建设性的潜能,我们如何利用它,作为在公共场合里的沟通工具?在公共场合里应该说什么?应该让谁听见?我们又应该怎么去谈?在这个工作坊里,Kumar利用多年来的喜剧经验,引导参与者反思他们需要谩骂的事,以及应该怎么去谩骂!

物体的气语

--骆丽诗(十指帮)

只限报名者!报名者须全程参与。
第一部分:9月10日,下午2至5点
第二部分:9月12日,下午2至5点

随意付费

移动的物体,物体的气语—— 这就是木偶戏的精髓。如何在操偶人的启动以及木偶/物体本身具备的主体性之间取得平衡,正是这项艺术的创意所在。当我们意识到“每一件物品都具备其灵魂”后,有了这样的认知和尊重,就可以利用自己的气息(操偶人的气语)来催动木偶/物体。

这催动和驱动木偶的过程,需要木偶、操偶人、和观众的参与。物体通过操偶人赋予的气语和双手活了起来,观众也因此愿意搁置怀疑,积极参与这项变化。这项为物体的本质重新设置的过程,因此是需要参与和投入感的。

这个工作坊将会带领参与者回答两个重要问题:我们怎么从这样的参与感获利,我们又为什么需要这么做?

以幽默治愈

--魏俐瑞

只限报名者!建议16岁及以上的参与者
9月10日,傍晚7至9点

随意付费

这项工作坊旨在凸显幽默在社交中的重要性。如果我们可以了解什么东西可以让社会上的人开怀大笑,并因此而明白人们的思维运作方式,那么培养幽默感能不能够帮助我们改变社会呢?

工作坊将会为我们展示我们对他人的看法里头可能出现的偏差,以及我们如何利用幽默来化解局面。工作坊会以谈话的方式进行,参与者可以观察:少了肢体表达的视觉提示,文字可以如何表达自我。同时,我们也将会更直观地去欣赏文字的力量。

为日食、奇特的栖息地、以及在互相矛盾的确定性中存活的行动和解救方案

--莎琳娜.穆罕默德

只限报名者!报名者须全程参与。
第一部分:9月11日,晚上10点至11点
第二部分:9月13日,下午2至3点

随意付费

工作坊将邀请参与者思考自己的举止、行动、以及在自我意识下催生的行为。同时也会反思我们在危机下怎么进行过渡、怎么转变自己、怎么寻找解救方案。我们有什么个人/集体的仪式,让我们能够创造记忆、悼念逝去的事物、重新使我们获得重生?这样的仪式怎么又和我们记录/衡量时间的方式这么不谋而合?我们如何阐述我们的临终仪式、(旧世界秩序下的)奇异鬼魅?如何阐述我们在废墟里的独处,如何阐述我们为什么会将重获新生的栖息地认定为自己的“家”?如何阐述时间、以及属于未来的鬼魅?在跨越不熟悉的门槛时,我们如何阐述我们体验到的混乱?通过说故事的方式、仪式、以及行动,这项工作坊旨在探索各种方法,为我们创造属于个人的记忆地图、属于个人的奇特栖息地、属于个人的守护神、驱邪符号、日历系统…… 以便记录、熟记一切我们自认为重要的人、事、物。

清洁仪式

--P7:1SMA

只限报名者!
9月12日,早上10点至中午12点

随意付费

对你来说,什么是“脏”?你又怎么保持清洁?让P7:1SMA的工作坊带领你把“清理”想象为一种居家仪式。通过集体的念力,参与者都会拟出自己“清洁仪式”的谱,为家庭奉献出一份宁静与安详。

2个对话

远距离聚集:在被拉开了距离的世界里创作参与式艺术

主讲人:
JK Anicoche(Komunidad X, 菲律宾)
韩雪梅(戏剧盒,新加坡)
Jamie Lewis(澳洲/新加坡)

主持人:
庄義楷(戏剧盒,新加坡)

为公众开放!
9月7日,傍晚7点至8点30分
通过 SCENES2020.dramabox.org现场直播

“戏聚现场”的艺术家和艺术总监聚集,针对这个问题进行分享:我们如何在被拉开了距离的世界里,继续创作参与式剧场?这个专题讨论将会领导观众进入“戏聚现场”的体验式世界。

不分距离,一起聚集:“戏聚现场”和参与者们的反思

仅限受邀者参加!
9月13日,傍晚7点至8点30分

只限所有参与者和艺术工作者们齐聚一堂,反思他们参与“戏聚现场”的经历与体验。

这是一场开放式的谈话,把焦点从艺术工作者和艺术作品转移到参与者身上。让参加不同工作坊、不同演出的参与者们齐聚一堂,尝试提问和回答:我们如何在被拉开了距离的世界里练习“参与”?只要你参与了“戏聚现场”,我们都欢迎你参加这场虚拟“营火会”,分享和聆听彼此对这项体验的看法。作为一起创造和参与“戏聚现场”的“专家小组”,参与者们将以批判性的思维审思这7天来所学习的、观察的、发现的事物;也思考如何在“戏聚现场”结束后延续这项“练习”,以此为“戏聚现场”的落幕做一次小总结。


TOP

做做朋友。加入飞鸽传书。

个人资料保护政策(英文版)
若需要任何讲解,请致电6324 5434



TOP