HOME » WHAT'S ON: ARCHIVE: 2014 » THE SILLY GIRL AND THE FUNNY OLD TREE

Theatre For Youth

The Silly Girl and
The Funny Old Tree


THE SILLY GIRL AND THE FUNNY OLD TREE

20 – 31 Oct 2014

Time
2:30pm & 5:15pm
Duration: 105min

Venue
SOTA Studio Theatre

Tickets
S$25

School Bookings

  • The Silly Little Girl and the Funny Old Tree is pending endorsement by the National Arts Council Arts Education Programme (NAC-AEP). Once approved, school may use the TOTE Board Arts Grant for a 50% subsidy of the tickets.

  • School can also use CPES (Cultural Performance Exposure Scheme) Funding to purchase tickets

  • 1 complimentary teacher ticket for every 20 tickets purchased

The Silly Little Girl and the Funny Old Tree is a play written by renowned Singaporean theatre practitioner Kuo Pao Kun in 1987. The play tells of the story about a strange attachment that a girl develops with an old, funny-looking tree in her school. However, development and construction plans by the adults for that area threaten to put an end to this friendship. Despite exhausting all means, the girl fails to protect the tree from the construction cranes. In a rapidly transforming society, how do we respond to the changes and dissolution of our culture and environment?

Directed & Adapted by Han Xue Mei

Written by Kuo Pao Kun

Performed in Mandarin
NO Surtitles

About Kuo Pao Kun

Kuo Pao Kun was born into a poor farming village in Hubei, China. At a tender age, he moved to classical Peiping, then to cosmopolitan Hong Kong. In 1949, he moved south again, this time to the multi-ethnic Singapore. Subsequently, he explored the vastness of Australia as a young man before returning to call Singapore his home. This is the journey of one man’s life, where the inflections of his journey are not lost upon the influence of his work. Where the varied experience of diverse cultures has shaped and inspired a unique and inimitable vision of creativity.

In 1965, Kuo Pao Kun and dancer Goh Lay Kuan founded Practice Performing Arts School, introducing the idea of performing arts education in Singapore, laying the initial foundation for a future arts scene. In 1986, Kuo Pao Kun founded Singapore’s first bilingual theatre company, The Theatre Practice. In 1990, Kuo Pao Kun received the Cultural Medallion, the highest local award bestowed upon an artist. In 1993, he received the ASEAN Culture award; and in 1997, he was knighted Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres from France. In 2002, he also received the Excellence for Singapore award.

Arguably the father of Singapore Theatre, Kuo’s 40 years of dedication and kindling of local theatre has been an influence to generations of artistes and practitioners. Aside from 26 years of script writing, Kuo has also written books, adapted scripts, and directed innumerable plays. In 1982, 14 local Chinese theatre groups assembled together to present a production of Kuo’s The Little White Sailing Boat.

Among his other works, The Coffin is Too Big for the Hole is most well known. Adapted and translated into various permutations and productions by local and international theatre groups, The Coffin is Too Big for the Hole has also been incorporated by schools as teaching material. Some of Kuo’s other well-known plays include the multi-lingual Mama Looking for Her Cat, The Silly Little Girl and The Funny Old Tree, and more mature works like Lao Jiu and Descendants of the Eunuch Admiral. Kuo also wrote an original screenplay for film entitled Grandpa’s Meat Bone Tea.

Kuo Pao Kun passed away in Singapore on 10th September 2002, creating an irreplaceable absence in the theatre scene, as well as in hearts of many who loved, admired and respected the man and his legacy.




TOP

BE A FRIEND. Join our mailing list.

Personal Data Protection Policy




TOP

首页 » 即将登场: 存档: 2014 » 青年剧场《傻姑娘与怪老树》

青年剧场《傻姑娘与怪老树》


青年剧场:《傻姑娘与怪老树》

2014年10月20至31日

时间

下午2点30分及下午5点15分
时长: 105分钟

地点

新加坡艺术学院小剧场

票价

S$25

学校购票

• 演出正在等待国家艺术理事会艺术教育计划(NAC-AEP)的认证。获得认证后,学校将可使用Tote Board Arts Grant购票,享有50%津贴
• 学校也可以使用“文化随意门”计划的资金购票
• 每购买20张学生票,组队老师可获得一张赠票


即刻购票!

《傻姑娘与怪老树》是新加坡已故剧作家郭宝崑1987年的经典剧作。

女孩在学校里遇见了一棵长相古怪的老树,还和它发展了奇妙的友谊。
女孩和老树相互依赖,然而,为了盖房子,大人们要把老树铲除。
尽管女孩竭尽所能,也无法改变老树最终的命运…

在社会不断发展的环境中,我们要如何面对身边人、事、物的变化及消逝?

华语演出
不含英文字幕


改编/导演 韩雪梅
原著 郭宝崑

关于郭宝崑

郭宝崑先生诞生于中国河北一贫困的农村,之后被带到北平,再往大都会香港,1949年又南来多元文化的新加坡,后又远赴地域广阔的澳洲,最后回到新加坡定居。这就是已故戏剧大师郭宝崑先生一生的动荡生活。而正是这样的生活丰富了郭宝崑先生的人生体验,也同时启迪他的灵感。多元化的文化激奋了他,从而造就了一颗充满包容的创作心灵。

郭宝崑先生与妻子吴丽娟女士于1965年连手创办了新加坡表演艺术学院,着手推广戏剧与舞蹈,也开始在新加坡文化发展方面打下了根基。1986年新加坡首个双语剧团–实践剧场成立。郭宝崑先生于1990年获颁新加坡文化奖(戏剧),1993年荣获亚细安文化奖,于1997年再获颁法国国家文学骑士勋章,2002年荣获新加坡卓越贡献奖(Excellence for Singapore Award)。

身为新加坡戏剧开创先锋,郭宝崑先生四十多年的戏剧创作历程,果实累累,影响新加坡戏剧界好几代的人。除年来孜孜不倦的剧本创作之外,郭宝崑先生还从事写作、翻.译、改编剧本的工作,并执导过无数的剧本。1982年,本地14个华语剧团史无前例地大联合,呈献了郭宝崑先生创作并导演的《小白船》一剧。

在郭宝崑先生的创作剧本中,《棺材太大洞太小》影响甚是深远!除多次出国巡回表演之外,更在本地引起巨大回响,这个剧作现已成为部分学校的英文教材。

《傻姑娘与怪老树》更是一部脍炙人口的演出,同时也培育了新一代戏剧人才《寻找小猫的妈妈》是多元化的创作,充分显露了郭宝崑先生在文化融合上的敏感与细致。《老九》、《郑和的后代》都在当时引起了广泛的讨论。《郑和的后代》剧作题材更引起了震撼。另外,还曾经创作了电视剧集《阿公肉骨茶》。

郭宝崑先生于2002年9月10日病逝新加坡,新加坡文艺界痛失导师,更留给人们无止境的怀念与哀思。




TOP

做做朋友。加入飞鸽传书。

个人资料保护政策(英文版)
若需要任何讲解,请致电6324 5434

TOP