HOME » PUBLICATIONS: BOOKS

Books


SCENES: A hundred years of Singapore Chinese Language Theatre 1913 – 2013

Chinese language theatre in Singapore has gone through a century of ups and downs.

It was borne out of a mission to inspire public discourse and to aid disaster relief in the beginning of the 20th century, and developed in the post-war era of multivariate aesthetic and political currents. Singapore Chinese language theatre has played a part in the construction of national consciousness; it has concerned itself with the underclass, while constantly reinventing, reintegrating, and professionalising ...

read more


Drama Box and the Social Theatre of Singapore – Cultural Intervention and Artistic Autonomy

As one of the most prolific theatre groups in Singapore, Drama Box has produced many socially engaging and thought-provoking works, including community plays that attempt to represent the voices of marginalised communities.

Using a wide-range of critical first-hand materials, supported by in-depth analysis of the theatre group's repertoire from 1991 to 2006 and national arts policies, the book investigates how theatre practitioners in Singapore negotiate for artistic autonomy and practise cultural intervention in a society where state power is omnipresent ...

read more


SCENES: Singapore's Contemporary Mandarin Plays Anthology (Part 1)

This book is published in line with Huayi – Chinese Festival of Arts 2010: SCENES co-produced by Drama Box and Esplanade.

No play works independently from the context of that era, and no play is unrelated to our history.

We have gathered here at the scene, to observe the surroundings and to look back at our history. We hope the readers will become aware of the subjectivity and diversity of Mandarin plays from the 18 scripts we have selected in the book, and thus begin to reflect upon the rich heritage's significance and value ...

read more


SCENES: Singapore's Contemporary Mandarin Plays Anthology (Part 2)

This book is published in line with Huayi – Chinese Festival of Arts 2010: SCENES co-produced by Drama Box and Esplanade.

No play works independently from the context of that era, and no play is unrelated to our history.

We have gathered here at the scene, to observe the surroundings and to look back at our history. We hope the readers will become aware of the subjectivity and diversity of Mandarin plays from the 18 scripts we have selected in the book, and thus begin to reflect upon the rich heritage's significance and value ...

read more


Drama Happens in the Classroom

Since 2007, a new Chinese Modular Curriculum Structure was implemented. In this new curriculum, a school-based module was designed to allow schools to come up with their own teaching materials, methods and assessments while taking into account the special characteristics of their students.

With the introduction of this new curriculum, two teachers from Blangah Rise Primary School, together with Singapore's Ministry of Education Curriculum Planner and Special-grade teacher, as well as Drama Box's Artistic Director, created a new practice ...

read more


Drama Box 1992-2002

We ask ourselves the reason why we publish this collection of Drama Box's past works. What exactly needs to be documented?

After 10 years, Drama Box still believes in local creations, and thus our productions have always strived to gather the creators in the local mandarin theatre industry. While most people are familiar and used to the realistic performing style, this collection serves as a reminder to all of us of the other possibilities. From the early works Another Tribe which was topic-centred, to the epic Hazy Love 97 and the new form of martial arts performance Leng-Geh-Mng to the recent Beautiful Day performed in the prose style ...

read more



TOP

BE A FRIEND. Join our mailing list.

Personal Data Protection Policy




TOP

首页 » 刊物: 书籍

书籍


《戏聚百年:新加坡华文戏剧1913—2013》

新加坡华文戏剧走过一个世纪,经历百 年的此起彼落,有过几度繁盛,也有过 些许消沉。

生成于20世纪初启迪民智与赈灾自强的使命,发展于战 后多元艺术观与政治观时代,新加坡华文戏剧参与国家 意识建构、关怀底层社群、重新整合出发、走向专业发 展,并在全球化环境中扎根本土、进行跨界对话。

更多详情


《戏剧盒与新加坡的社会剧场: 文化干预与艺术自主性》

在一个华语被边缘化,审查和监控机制无所不在的社会中,戏剧盒如何与国家协商艺术自自主性,创造一种具有社会批判性和动员的剧场呢?它又通过何种策略吸引观众,建立自己的观众群,成为新加坡最具影响力的剧团之一?

本书通过戏剧盒1991年到2006年剧场实践的分析,从批判的角度审视新加坡剧场与国家政策、全球化过程、媒体的各种复杂关系,希望能带动更多读者、评论者、艺术工作者和学者对新加坡剧场艺术和历史的思考与关注。

更多详情


《戏聚现场: 新加坡当代华文剧作选I》

本书是配合滨海艺术中心呈献的华艺节2010节目《戏聚现场: 新加坡华语剧展》而出版。《戏聚现场》是华艺节委约戏剧盒联合制作的节目。

没有一个剧作是脱离时代脉络而独立完成的,也没有一个时代的戏剧是与各种源头的历史毫无关系的。

我们聚合在当下的现场,环视周遭的景观,也回顾历史的脉络。希望读者能够从本书中选录的18个剧作,看到新加坡华文戏剧作中的主体性与多元性的特征,思考90年的华文戏剧历史为我们留下的丰富遗产的意义与价值,以及接下来生活、创作与思考的各种可能性。

更多详情


《戏聚现场: 新加坡当代华文剧作选II》

本书是配合滨海艺术中心呈献的华艺节2010节目《戏聚现场: 新加坡华语剧展》而出版。《戏聚现场》是华艺节委约戏剧盒联合制作的节目。

没有一个剧作是脱离时代脉络而独立完成的,也没有一个时代的戏剧是与各种源头的历史毫无关系的。

我们聚合在当下的现场,环视周遭的景观,也回顾历史的脉络。希望读者能够从本书中选录的18个剧作,看到新加坡华文戏剧作中的主体性与多元性的特征,思考90年的华文戏剧历史为我们留下的丰富遗产的意义与价值,以及接下来生活、创作与思考的各种可能性。

更多详情


《嘿! 这里有戏》

2007年起实施的小学华文课程采用了单元模式。并在其中设置了“校本单元”,让学校根据自身情况制定“校本课程”。

布兰雅坡小学的两位老师,连同新加坡教育部的课程规划员和特级教师,以及华语专业剧团戏剧盒的艺术总监,趁此进行了创新的校本实践,考量校本课程在应用了戏剧技巧来活化和深化华文教学之后,它与中央课程能够如何相辅相成,共同达致学习目标。

更多详情


《戏剧盒1992-2002》

我们问自己为什么要出版剧本集?有什么是有必要被记载下来的呢?

经过十年光景,戏剧盒坚持本土创作的理念,使我们的演出集合了本地中文剧场重要的新一代创作者。当许多人对中文剧场的印象还停留在现实主义的表演方式,这本集子也许可以提醒我们关于中文剧场其他载体的可能性。从早期课题式的《异族》、史诗式的《在母鸡下蛋前说爱我》和新派武打的《龙牙门》,到近期散文式的《在晴朗的一天出发》、解构式的《阴道独白》及《骨骨》的意识流表现手法,可以看到本地中文剧场变化的痕迹。

更多详情



TOP

做做朋友。加入飞鸽传书。

个人资料保护政策(英文版)
若需要任何讲解,请致电6324 5434




TOP